What I’m Doing

So, I was watching a movie recently–I see a ton–and I was just looking at the review afterward. One of my trusted critics gave this movie a really great review, and I just couldn’t figure out why.

I mean, yeah, it was well-made, but I didn’t like it whatsoever. Why didn’t that critic warn me? Or were they judging based on technical merit? There are so many things to judge in a film, and it’s all subjective in the end. You can like bad movies, and hate the classics.

So, I had the following idea: Why don’t I add another classification? Yeah, it’s been done before, I’m sure, and maybe even like this. I will use green stars for movies I like, yellow for ones I’m not sure about, and red for ones I just can’t stand–hence the stoplight. It takes a lot for me to dislike a movie, and yet surprisingly little at the same time.

I’m just into May, and I’ve seen 122 movies so far this year. Yes, I am in fact crazy. I am going to try to review every single movie I see for the rest of the year, ranging from new releases to catalog titles, and therefore, I do not want to make the reviews longer than this post. I sometimes see five movies in a day, so essays would be past my point on the insanity spectrum.

With that out of the way, let’s see where this takes me…

Leave a Reply

