Jurassic World (2015)

Yes, I did watch the two best Jurassic Park films in one day. It is very much like The Force Awakens, in that it makes me want to go back and watch the others. Too bad they can’t make any residuals on movies I already own (muahaha!)

Joking aside, the best word to describe this film is “awesome,” and I mean that in the best possible way. Some movies have been called “awesome” before, and it is often used to describe a sort of mindless entertainment–popcorn fare, if you must be so plain.

Jurassic World is so much more than mindless, though, and I am willing to go so far as to call it the work of a master. Not a masterpiece, but anyway. Colin Trevorrow, in his second feature, proves himself as competent a filmmaker as any I’ve seen, and his appointment to Star Wars: Episode IX is really no surprise. Sure, the film runs a mostly generic structure, saturated with call-backs to Park, but it is often so well composed that I barely cared.

No, the characters are not better than Park, but I like them. No, it does not display the wonder of the original–it’s not supposed to. The point of the film is that we’ve grown tired of the same old tricks we used to call magic, and our resulting capitalist desperation gets us into trouble. Genuine logic to me. I cannot praise it enough.

Jurassic World is the first and only film I’ve seen in three separate dimensions: 2D, 3D, and 4DX–and I would not have it any other way. It’s thrilling stuff. If franchises are going to be the only films left in the future–Whiplash X: The Lashing, I am ready–then I pray they’re as fine as Jurassic World.

3.5

 

2 thoughts on “Jurassic World (2015)

  1. Pingback: Independence Day: Resurgence (2016) | The Stoplight

  2. Pingback: The Magnificent Seven (2016) | The Stoplight

Leave a Reply

