Top Gun (1986)

The photo should tell you all you need to know.

This. Movie. Is. Awesome. Tom Cruise approves, and so do I.

Believe it or not, I had never seen Top Gun, but the 30th anniversary was two days ago and I was feeling like some Tony Scott. What I got was one of the most fist-pumping, exhilarating, homoerotic films I’ve ever seen. From the jam-worthy soundtrack to the killer nicknames to the surprise appearance of Meg Ryan, I loved this movie so, so much.

It did still have its flaws, though, like some interesting point-to-points in its narrative. I wasn’t always able to follow the dogfights, and the romance was so bad I loved it. These were small problems, though, which didn’t detract from the overall enjoyment of the film.

The bottom line is this: Hop into this cock pit.

I hope you see what I did there, and I hope you agree.

3

Leave a Reply

