The Nice Guys (2016)

Behold, the movie that was everything I wanted and more.

I have been a Ryan Gosling superfan ever since Drive, and I have been tolerant of Russell Crowe for many, many years. Thankfully, they are both at the top of their games here, and there’s a surprise third partner in Gosling’s daughter.

Throughout this film, set in 1980s Los Angeles, I was getting vibes of L.A. Confidential (a film also starring Crowe and Kim Basinger…), and the plot, when you think about it, was not so different. The Nice Guys is what would happen if L.A. Confidential had a baby with a sense of humor.

There were brief periods where I was not laughing, and they could have been trimmed, but there were also moments where I was simply so glad to be alive. The picture was so refreshingly confident in its voice and narrative. When a major twist happened, other movies might have wrapped things up, but I could tell there was another act to the story, and I could not have been more thrilled to have it.

It was my 22nd birthday today, and seeing this was the one thing I had to do. I got one of the best presents Hollywood could ever give me (besides a Star Wars film): I was treated to the most complete and rewarding film experience of the year so far.

3

 

2 thoughts on “The Nice Guys (2016)

  1. Pingback: Drive (2011) | The Stoplight

  2. Pingback: Best of Summer 2016 | The Stoplight

Leave a Reply

