Alice Through the Looking Glass (2016)

Critics be damned. I loved this movie.

The plot is this: The Hatter’s in tatters, and yes, it does matter. Poor Alice has gone from a ship to a palace, and men in her life are just brimming with malice. She has to return, as soon she will learn, to meddle with Time, who also can rhyme. She steals the man’s sphere, and she’s no longer here. She’s gone back in time, and I hope this is clear. To alter the past, she must fight to the last, and I’m glad she meanders and doesn’t go fast.

If that didn’t make any sense, don’t worry, the film actually does. I was expecting the film (written by Linda Woolverton of Beauty and the Beast and The Lion King) to be a madhouse of absurdity, with absolutely no semblance of plot. The story does not matter, though, even though it does technically work.

Alice Through the Looking Glass is a feast for the senses, and is even an appetizer for the heart. Nearly every frame is filled with wonder and imagination, and I did not find myself bored more than once. The critics are saying this film is absolutely terrible, and for a while I could see from where they were coming. I went in expecting nothing, and got everything in return.

Mia Wasikowska is enthralling, Johnny Depp is tolerable, and it’s just so much fun. If you cannot savor this world, then your eyes have diabetes.

Give this movie a chance. I beg you. This film is bonkers and silly and wild and absurd, and that is precisely why I love it.

3

 

Leave a Reply

