Far from the Madding Crowd (2015)

Swoooooooooooon. Oh my goodness, my heart cannot take it.

The plot is this: Bathsheba Everdene (Carey Mulligan) is an independent woman. She meets a charming shepherd, and she is still an independent woman. She inherits a farm and attracts a bachelor from next door, and she is still an independent woman. She meets a soldier, and he touches her, and she gives in–but still, she doesn’t need him. She picks one in the end, but only because she’d like to have him around. There are plenty of sunsets and plenty of sensual moments, and it’s just the best.

I finally got my dad to watch it, and I think he loved it too. “Swooning” is really the perfect word to describe what I do when I watch this movie, and I do it for a million reasons. Watching this movie, my heart is the molten wax that rests near the candle flame, melted and yet so very warm.

Far from the Madding Crowd seems to live in every moment, rarely wishing to cut away, letting the native sounds of the scene pull you in. The acting is exemplary too, and Carey Mulligan needs to do so many more movies with Matthias Schoenaerts (for the record, I spelled it right off the top of my head). Their chemistry is warm and soothing to the soul.

The story isn’t without its complications, and the film, adapted from the book by Thomas Hardy, solves them beautifully. Even better, director Thomas Vinterberg injects enough art and passion into every frame, you almost want to pause the movie to look at them.

I cannot recommend this film enough, for far too many reasons to count. My incoherence in this review shows you just how this film leaves me. Let it sweep you off your feet, as it always does to me.

3.5

One thought on “Far from the Madding Crowd (2015)

  1. Pingback: Drive (2011) | The Stoplight

Leave a Reply

