Love and Friendship (2016)

What a delightful motion picture.

The plot is this: Lady Susan (Kate Beckinsale) has lost her husband, and she’s also lost her money. She goes around staying with family, hoping to secure some sort of future for herself and her daughter, and ends up balancing three suitors, none of whom is a proper fit.

Beckinsale, who is best known for the Underworld series, chews every single line. She’s not the one that steals the movie, though, with that duty given to Sir James Martin (Tom Bennett). His role, that of a genuine buffoon, is one of the funniest I’ve seen this decade. I have always been a casual fan of Jane Austen, but I did not know she could be this wonderfully hysterical.

There are some scenes you have to get through, which are talking for talking’s sake, but the film is more than redeemed by its comedy. I don’t even want to reveal some of the lines because you really wouldn’t believe they work. Sir James Martin goes on for minutes at a time, running verbal circles in a pit he dug for himself, and I couldn’t help but cry.

There is a story here too, but I promise you shouldn’t come for it. The movie isn’t always funny, but when it is, it has cleaner, more genuine laughs than your average Neighbors or Adam Sandler movie. I spent long periods of time with a giant grin on my face, waiting to burst into another fit of hysterics.

If I’m being perfectly honest, I made more than my fair share of sounds during this movie, sounds usually reserved for drunkards and jesters. But seeing as a lot of the audience did too, I know you’ll be in for a treat.

3

 

2 thoughts on “Love and Friendship (2016)

  1. Pingback: Best of Summer 2016 | The Stoplight

  2. Pingback: Best of 2016 | The Stoplight

Leave a Reply

