Never Let Me Go (2010)

There is no such thing as a perfect film, just as there is no such thing as a perfect person or novel or poem or song. I keep telling myself that, but this film really tested my theory.

Never Let Me Go, in my opinion, is one of the most flawless pieces of filmmaking this side of the century, and I’m shocked I hadn’t seen it before. Without spoiling much, it’s about Kathy (Carey Mulligan, Far from the Madding Crowd), who went to school with Tommy and Ruth (Andrew Garfield and Keira Knightley). To extend the life expectancy of humanity, some children are raised to have their organs harvested, and that includes our main three. A love triangle forms and shifts, and Kathy becomes a carer, deferring her “donations.”

Every frame is a thing of beauty–if not a painting, then ideal reality–ironic for a dystopian tale like this. There is such a texture to these environments, such an aesthetic, I really cannot begin to explain it properly. The score is wistful majesty. I found myself hanging on every word and every moment of silence, taking in the tragic beauty of this world.

If it weren’t so late, I’d be watching it again, not thirty minutes after finishing it. Everything about this movie is just… breathtaking. Magnificent. Unforgettable. This film has taken me by the soul, and I hope it never lets me go.

4

2 thoughts on “Never Let Me Go (2010)

  1. Pingback: Hacksaw Ridge (2016) | The Stoplight

Leave a Reply

