The Conjuring 2 (2016)

I don’t go to horror movies. Most of the time, it’s because they suck. Other times, yeah, I’m afraid.

There’s been a resurgence in quality horror films in the past few years (The Conjuring, The Babadook, and It Follows come to mind), and it’s hard to avoid. The reviews have been so stellar, I’ve been compelled to face my fears and see them. We’re moving past simple jump scares, and it’s like we’ve finally remembered what truly scares us. Director James Wan, who also helmed the first Conjuring, should be worshiped.

Very much like the first Conjuring, the sequel deals with dramatizations of the paranormal cases of Ed and Lorraine Warren, played in the films by Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga. This film takes them to Enfield, England, where an old spirit is demonizing the body and home of a little girl. The physical monster, though, is rarely seen, especially for more than a second or two, and this merely adds to the fear.

What really makes this film so terrifying is the silence. The seconds you spend in this movie may very well be some of the longest seconds of your life. It seemed like it had been two hours when the Warrens finally heard of the Enfield case, and then I checked my watch to see it had barely been sixty minutes. When I was watching The Revenant, I had the same thing happen, and my reaction was of terror. I have to sit through another hour-and-a-half of this? I thought.

In The Conjuring 2, though, I was ecstatic. There was so much more story ahead, and I was thrilled to see it.

You’ll be terrified while watching this film, and you will also laugh and stay invested in the characters. (Watch out for an Elvis impression.) The third act does get a bit over-the-top, a stark shift from the rest of the film, but you probably won’t mind. After all, ten minutes from greatness is still pretty damn good.

3.5

The Conjuring 2 is in theaters now.

One thought on “The Conjuring 2 (2016)

  1. Pingback: Best of Summer 2016 | The Stoplight

Leave a Reply

