Central Intelligence (2016)

What to say about this film… What to say, what to say…

I didn’t really like it, for one. I understand that I was the only one in the theater that wasn’t laughing, but I’m giving you my own opinion. My dad loved it. An obnoxious guy in the front loved it too, but I did not.

This movie had a lot going for it. Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart are both funny, and they do have good chemistry, but the funniest thing about Johnson’s character is his dedication. He says the lines like they mean something.

To explain the whole plot would confuse you. Johnson is a good guy, then he’s a bad guy, then he’s a good guy, and it keeps flopping. It’s supposed to seem twisty, but it just seems pointless. There are more action scenes than laughs, and the best laughs don’t even seem to come from the script. A romantic subplot just seems to be a setup for a joke. In his defense, Kevin Hart is genuinely hilarious when he wants to be.

I would be giving this film two-and-a-half stars if not for the cameos. I won’t spoil who they are, but some popular comic actors do pop up every now and then. Their appearances were a breath of fresh air in a film that’s woefully stale.

This movie doesn’t get very much wrong, and I can appreciate that. The problem is it doesn’t get a lot right, either. So, was it bad? No. Was it good? I mean, I guess.

3

Central Intelligence is in theaters now.

Leave a Reply

