Best of Summer 2016

It’s September 1, meaning that not only has the summer film season unofficially come to an end, but I’ve been blogging for exactly four months. I’ve recruited some guest reviewers and seen a heck of a lot of films, but enough recap.

As a film reviewer, it only makes sense for me to list the best (and worst) films that have been released this summer. Let’s just say the worst were easy.

The Worst:

Now You See Me 2
3. Now You See Me 2 – 2 Red

xmen-apocalypse-cyclops-jeangrey
2. X-Men: Apocalypse – 2 Red

Resurgence
1. Independence Day: Resurgence – 1 Yellow

Dishonorable Mentions:
Jason Bourne – 2.5 Yellow
Suicide Squad – 2 Yellow

And now, for the Best, the films that make me believe there is more than just money to be made in cinema—there can be art.

Kubo
3. Kubo and the Two Strings – 3.5 Green

PETES-DRAGON-12-1200x750
2. Pete’s Dragon – 3.5 Green

hero_Love-Friendship-2016-8
1. Love and Friendship – 3 Green

Honorable Mentions:
The BFG – 3.5 Green
The Nice Guys – 3 Green

Looking at this list, you may be wondering how a Yellow-star film could be the worst and a three-star film could be better than a 3.5. Well, certain films stick with you. Love and Friendship, from the moment I saw it, was probably locked into first place. I bought the soundtrack, the source material, and saw it in theaters a month after I saw it the first time. I’m actually listening to the soundtrack as I type this. It is the brightest star of my cinematic summer, without question.

As for Independence Day, I mentioned in my review that I didn’t even care enough to hate it. My opinion of the film has only grown more sour since, but I truly believe that apathy, in some cases, can be worse than the most loathsome hatred. It truly deserves to be the last film in what should never have been a franchise, what with its blatant disregard for two hours of my life.

But anyway, this was my opinion on the summer slate of films for 2016. I saw so many more films that merited a spot in my heart (Nerve, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, and The Shallows, mostly), but I shouldn’t list them all (The Conjuring 2 still keeps me up).

Let’s pray the studios limit their creative interference from now on (looking at you, Warner Brothers).

[Oh, and don’t forget to like me on my brand-new Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/thestoplightblog/]

Leave a Reply

