Singin’ in the Rain (1952)

I’m going to miss Debbie Reynolds. But then again, I’m going to remember her in this, and that’s not a bad legacy to have. I feel blessed.

Singin’ in the Rain, in my opinion, is one of the only films good enough to justify an apostrophe in its title. It can make me smile—me—no matter what, and I can’t think of many movies like that. I mean, it barely sticks to a plot, and you all should know how much I normally hate that.

The film, starring Gene Kelly (The Young Girls of Rochefort), Donald O’Connor, and Debbie Reynolds, revolves around Hollywood’s transition to talking pictures. Don Lockwood (Kelly) and Lina Lamont (Jean Hagen) are huge stars, but while Lockwood sounds nice, Lamont has the most shrill and grating voice imaginable. Their next film is set to be a total disaster, so it’s a good thing that he runs into Kathy Selden (Reynolds), a darling, multitalented star in the making.

In addition to the scene featured above, there are a few classic musical numbers that I’m sure you’re at least heard of (“Good Morning” plays in TV commercials). They are generally a bit indulgent, sure, often running a bit too long, but you might be smiling too hard to care. And there is just so much fun to be had regarding the nature of Hollywood, I dare you not to enjoy at least some part of this film.

It doesn’t even feel like a 50s movie. This was technically a period film when it was released, but it feels like it’s been around forever.

When I hear the title, I tend to think of the rain portion first. But then I remember, it takes a special kind of happiness to sing in the rain. You might say it’s raining, but from where I stand, the sun is shining all over the place.

4 Green

Singin’ in the Rain is available on Blu-ray, DVD, and digital.

One thought on “Singin’ in the Rain (1952)

  1. Pingback: Bright Lights: Starring Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds (2017) | The Stoplight

Leave a Reply

